Four Tet announces new album; crashes site

Four Tet, aka widely adored electronic musician Kieran Hebden, took to Twitter this morning to announce his seventh studio album, Beautiful Rewind, and its cover art, shown here. Posted around 5:00 A.M. EST, the tweet quickly crashed his site, causing one fan to muse (albeit with an incorrect possessive pronoun):

According to the posting (which we were eventually able to access after several page refreshes), the album will contain 11 tracks (listed below) and see release on Four Tet’s own Text label “soon.” It will be available in “LP, CD and internet versions,” the artist revealed in subsequent tweets, as well as a “deluxe sendspace edition with art print and unique numbered download code.” Pretty neat.

Hebden followed up the announcement with this magical tweet, astutely calling out the music industry on its usual promotional hijinks:

Four Tet is currently touring Europe but will be in the States in August for a rare festival set at Electric Zoo in New York. ITM will be there front and center. For an intro to the artist, check out his seminal 2003 album Rounds.

Four Tet – Beautiful Rewind

1 Gong

2 Parallel jalebi

3 Our navigation

4 Ba teaches yoga

5 Kool FM

6 Crush

7 Buchla

8 Aerial

9 Ever never

10 Unicorn

11 Your body feels

Produced by Kieran Hebden

Photography by Jason Evans

Design by Matthew Cooper