Here are the nominees for BBC Radio 1’s Essential Mix of the Year

Each December, BBC Radio 1 take a look back on the year’s Essential Mixes and name one they think stands out as the very best.

It will still be another few weeks before we find out who takes the title of Essential Mix of the Year for 2016 but today, Radio 1 have announced their shortlist. Dusky, Leon Vynehall, Midland, Recondite, and Âme and Dixon, who paired up for a back-to-back special in the Essential Mix’s ‘X’ series, have all got the nod. You can revisit their mixes below.

The winner of 2016’s Essential Mix of the Year will be in good company: previous victors include Ben Klock, who won in 2015 with his debut Essential Mix, as well as Caribou, Eric Prydz and Nicolas Jaar, who won in 2012 for his “bold, brave and timeless” masterpiece.

Revisit all the mixes on this year’s shortlist below.

Âme x Dixon

Leon Vynehall